Monday, August 19


File System is a mechanism used in the O/S environment for storing the data in a systamatical order into a storage device.      

UNIX/LINUX follows hierarchy file system standard (HFS) . In this file system all other directories mounted under the directory called root ( / ) .

                 /       -->  Root (Top of the directory)

                /root  -->  Super User (or) Administrator home directory, it represented by " ~ "(tilde) symbol .                                           

Structure Of  Linux

                    "/"  this directory is called as root directory
                      It is the top of filesystem structure

 All other directories are mounted under it.

  (1)     /root : this is default homedirectory of administrator

  (2)     /home : It contains all users home directories

  (3)    /boot : It contains bootable files like kernel  (initrd image),  bootloader (GRUB),
                                    installer  (ANACONDA-ks.cfg)

  (4)    /sbin : It contains administrative commands used by super user (root)
                                 i.e. ADMINISTRATOR

  (5)    /bin  : It contains commands used by superuser & normal user

  (6)    /usr  : It contains the packages and application which are available for user
                       (similar to program files on windows)

  (7)    /var  : It contains variable information such as logs and print queries

  (8)   /lib  : It contains libraries need by no. of different application as well as linux kernel 

  (9)    /etc  : It contains all configuration files

 (10)   /proc : This directory contains current running process information.

 (11)   /tmp  : This directory contains temporary files used by the system

 (12)   /opt  : It contains the third party application

                  Eg    : Core word effect, Sun star office

 (13)  /media : Removable media is stored under this directory.

 (14)  /dev  : This directory contains devices modes through which the o/s can access
                    hardware (on software device on the system)

       DEVICE                                       IDE                                 SATA
   primary master                          /dev/hda /dev/sda
   primary slave                            /dev/hdb /dev/sdb

  secondary master                       /dev/hdc                                 /dev/sdc

  secondary slave                        /dev/hdd /dev/sdd


No comments:

Post a Comment

:: Linux - Legends ::